Cory Monteith : A Leader in This Generation

Quote: ” I think if you show up and you work hard and you’re straightforward, you can always create your own opportunities. I hope I’m right.” –Cory Monteith
Song: Can’t Fight This Feeling Anymore — Cory Monteith (Glee Rendition)
Location: Bedroom floor, Alberta

Wow. I literally don’t even know what to write or how to write right now. But I know I need to. The news has begun spreading that Cory Monteith, best known for playing Finn Hudson on Fox’s Glee, has passed away. Cory Monteith was not only one of my favorite actors, but he played one of my two favorite characters on television, the other being his sidekick Rachel Berry (played by Lea Michele.) This blog is not going to be a speech about his death or how it happened. It’s just me simply explaining to everyone who is going to judge gleeks about our outcry on why we will and should be allowed to grieve.

Finn-Rachel-I’m an actor in the industry and Cory was technically another co-worker in my profession. I haven’t had the chance to meet him, but I can assure you he has forever impacted my life and this still does not seem real. Glee is unlike any other television show in history. Glee does not just get shown on Thursday nights and then get forgotten. Glee is a survival guide for this generation. This entire generation has been about change and movement and although we encourage and aspire it, it is still judged and looked down upon. Glee encouraged this movement. They encouraged acceptance, love for the arts, relationships with teachers and so much more. Gleeks became a family because we had each other. I can speak on that personally. I truly do not think I would have gotten out of high school as happy as I was without Glee. Glee literally was a play-by-play of my life and anyone who knows me well can attest to that. I’m the living and breathing Rachel Berry. I am. Anything that happens to her, happens to me. Or it’ll happen to me first and be on the show next week. It’s crazy, yet that’s the way of Glee. They have a character that truly relates to every single person out there. That’s why Gleeks will take this so hard and deserve to.

I was made fun of in high school. I was a drama kid, it’s expected. Glee taught drama kids how to take that teasing and bullying and push through it. And Cory Monteith’s character Finn was a huge part of this. He was the captain of the football team and he became the captain of Glee club and saved it multiple times. He took the bullying and the flak for doing what he loves, but he was an example because he did that. And this isn’t just about the character of Finn and how the show will truly never be the same without him, but Cory as a person was just as loving. He was there for his fans, took responsibility when he needed to and was known as a happy, cheerful and encouraging person. He went through some rough ages in his late teens, but he recovered and came out stronger.

cory_monteith_lgNo one knows how he officially passed away yet, and I’m not here to speculate. I want there to be one blog left about Cory not talking about how or what he did before he died, but remembering the impact that he left on my generation. There is no doubt in my mind that the set of Glee will forever feel empty and that the show will never be the same. It would not surprise me if after these next 2 seasons Fox has signed on for, it comes to an end on their own decision. They may choose to go on too of course, but I know it will not be the same. Cory was a huge part of that show and his fans will forever love and miss him.

I want to thank the numerous amounts of friends and acquaintances who contacted me immediately to make sure I was okay. And that is my point. My best friend Tristyn texted me immediately, and people I haven’t talked to in over 3 years facebooked me just as quickly. When you’re a Gleek, everyone knows you are and although they don’t understand the immediate emotional connection you’ll forever have with the show, the actors and everything about the franchise, they still get it enough to know that this will impact your life. My deepest prayers also go out to his family and friends, Lea, Ryan Murphy and the rest of the cast and crew on Glee. I can’t imagine how difficult this is for you!

Cory, thank you for being a role model, someone to look up to, someone to look up to when high school looked like it would never end well, and for helping encourage kids to go after their dreams no matter what. You were an inspiration and form of hope. I will forever remember you and love you as a colleague, actor and person. This just shouldn’t have happened.

 

cory-monteith-320Cory Monteith
May 11, 1982 – July 13, 2013

4 thoughts on “Cory Monteith : A Leader in This Generation

  1. Well said Gina. I can feel your tears dropping on every word. This must have been one of the hardest blogs you’ve written!

    • Thank you so much Linda. Was it ever. 2am on my bedroom floor, writing, crying and trying to make sense of it all.

      Thank you so much for taking the time to read it and comment! ❤

  2. Pingback: Cory Monteith, Who Played Finn Hudson on Glee, is Dead: RIP 1982-2013 | We Minored In Film

  3. Pingback: The Final Bow: Saying Good Bye to Glee | ginaomilon

Leave a comment